A Message from His Excellency, the President of the Imam Abdul Rahman bin Faisal University, Dr. Abdullah M. Al Rubaish:

The legacy of Imam Abdul Rahman bin Faisal University goes back to 1395H (1975G) when it was established as a branch of the King Faisal University in Dammam (KFU-Dammam). After thirty-four years, in September 2009, it became an independent University under the name of "University of Dammam." Since that date, the University has grown strongly having branches covering Dammam City and another six Mohafazat in the Eastern Province (Qatif, Jubail, Alnairih, Qariah Olyia, Khafji, and Hafrul Batin). In April 2014, a Royal Decree was issued separating four branches (Alnairih, Qariah Olyia, Khafji, and Hafrul Batin) to establish a new university called “University of Hafrul Batin.” On 28/02/1438 (28/11/2016 m), by the Royal Decree no. (29402), the name of the “University of Dammam” was modified to “Imam Abdul Rahman bin Faisal University” (IAU).

Over the few previous years, the IAU has accomplished many of its objectives in infrastructure development as well as in academia by creating, developing and enhancing the University’s academic programs.  The University has successfully overcome several obstacles and challenges associated with a growing academic institution and has matured into a leading international university ready to guide the next generation into the future.

The University of Dammam is steadfast in its commitment to fulfilling the goals and developmental endeavors of the Kingdom, enshrined in its strategic plans; represented by the 2030 Vision, the National Strategy for transforming the Kingdom into a knowledge-based society and economy as well as the 10th Development Plan, the AAFAQ Plan for Higher Education, etc.  The most critical elements in these strategies and plans are the preparation of our graduates for a knowledge-based society and playing an active role in the construction of a knowledge-based economy.  With such goals in mind, it is the responsibility of the AIAU administration, faculty and staff to ensure that the students have access to all the required resources for success:  from rigorous academic expectations, to inspiring accomplished faculty, as well as state-of-the-art facilities and laboratories, so that the graduates of IAU will be ready to become the innovative leaders of our nation.

Education is the heart of the knowledge-based community because it is based on the foundations of research, innovation and learning.  Hence, IAU has focused on building the students’ skills through the improvement of student performance by using an outcome-based education methods, which focuses on the student. This method also reinforces the acquisition and mastering of vital skills in the areas of:  entrepreneurship, digital technology, problem solving, critical thinking and the integration of learning with knowledge, which all contribute to increasing the students’ career opportunities in the labor market.

The IAU is also dedicated to employing communication and information technology in education, using quality open-sourced educational methodologies, providing demanding but inspiring academic programs, encouraging innovation in teaching in addition to monitoring the quality of academic programs through internal quality systems as well as external quality systems.

The University, as the mechanism of innovation and growth, is moving towards enhancing its role in the field of research. The University of Dammam has and continues to focus on research projects that contribute to the solutions of national, regional and international problems in a way that also creates and advances partnerships with the community.  The University supports excellence in research and innovation in order to positively contribute to the national research priorities, while at the same time ensuring intellectual property rights and steadfastly supporting both ethical norms and standards of research.  In addition, IAU provides an ideal environment conducive to carrying out exceptional research as well as encouraging collaborative research within the University or in association with national and international institutions.

The indicators and signs of success are demonstrated on the 1st of April 2015 (13 Rajab 1436), when the University was granted an unconditional institutional accreditation for seven-year period (1 April 2015 - April 30, 2022) from the National Center for Academic Evaluation and Accreditation. In addition, several academic programs in colleges were granted national academic program accreditation (e.g. Colleges of Medicine, Nursing and Dentistry) and international academic program accreditation (e.g. Architecture and Planning). The march towards excellence for other university programs continues steadily.

Through its various roles, Imam Abdulrahman bin Faisal University will remain committed, with the support of Allah,  to guiding and teaching ethically conscious and responsible graduates who will be instrumental in the realization of sustainable development in the local community, the Kingdom and the world.

كلمة معالي مدير الجامعة الدكتور عبدالله بن محمد الربيش

ترجع عراقة جامعة الإمام عبدالرحمن بن فيصل إلى عام 1395هـ (1975م) حيث أنشئت الجامعة كفرع من

فروع جامعة الملك فيصل بمدينة الدمام، وبعد أربعة وثلاثين عاما وفي سبتمبر عام 2009م أصبحت جامعة مستقلة تحت مسمى "جامعة الدمام"، ومنذ ذلك التاريخ نمت الجامعة بقوة وأصبح لها فروع تغطى مدينة الدمام وست محافظات أخر في المنطقة الشرقية (القطيف، والجبيل، والنعيرية، وقرية العليا، والخفجي، وحفر الباطن)، وفي أبريل عام 2014م، صدر المرسوم الملكي بفصل أفرع (النعيرية، وقرية العليا، والخفجي، وحفر الباطن) لتنشأ من رحمها جامعة جديدة هي جامعة "حفر الباطن"، وفي 28/02/1438هـ (28/11/2016م) وبموجب المرسوم الملكي رقم (29402) جرى تعديل على اسم الجامعة من "جامعة الدمام" إلى "جامعة الإمام عبد الرحمن بن فيصل".

لقد تمكنت جامعة الإمام عبد الرحمن بن فيصل خلال الأعوام القليلة الماضية من إنجاز  الكثير من برامجها في مجال إنشاء البنية التحتية للجامعة، وتطوير البرامج العلمية، واستحداث الآخر منها، متجاوزة الصعوبات، ومذللة العقبات، متطلعة لتحقيق المزيد من الإنجازات، ترسم خطاها نحو العالمية والريادة، واضعة نصب عينها مواجهة التحديات التي تواجهها مؤسسات التعليم العالي، ومشاركة في تحقيق أهداف الدولة وتوجهاتها التنموية عبر خططها الاستراتيجية، والتي تمثلها رؤية المملكة 2030، والاستراتيجية الوطنية للتحول إلى مجتمع المعرفة والاقتصاد القائم على المعرفة، وخطة التنمية العاشرة، وخطة آفاق للتعليم العالي، والتي من أهمها تهيئة الخريجين لمجتمع المعرفة، والمشاركة بقوة في بناء اقتصاد المعرفة، الذي يعني امتلاكنا لقدرات أعلى والاستفادة من الخبرات الداخلية، والخبرات المتراكمة لكل ما حولنا سواء من خلال الإدارة السليمة للمعرفة، أو من خلال توفر مصادرها المساندة لمتطلبات النمو والتطور.

ولما كان التعليم يقع في قلب اقتصاد المعرفة؛ لأنه يقوم على مرتكزات البحث والابتكار والتعلم، لذا ركزت الجامعة على بناء مهارات الطلاب من خلال التركيز على تحسين أداء الطلاب باستخدام التعليم القائم على النتائج، الذي يتخذ الطالب محورًا أساسًا له، مع دعم المهارات الأساسية، مثل: مهارات ريادة الأعمال وتنظيم المشاريع، والمهارات الرقمية، ومهارات حل المشكلات، والتفكير النقدي، ودمج التعلم مع المعرفة، والتي تزيد من فرص التوظيف في سوق العمل.

كما حرصت الجامعة على استخدام تقنية الاتصالات والمعلومات في التعليم، واستخدام نظام مصادر التعليم المفتوحة ذات الجودة العالية، مع توفير البرامج الدراسية رفيعة المستوى بجانب تشجيع الابتكار في التدريس، وتكثيف مراقبة البرامج وجودتها من خلال بناء نظم الجودة الداخلي بالجامعة، مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار نظم الجودة الخارجي.

كما تتجه الجامعة إلى تعزيز دورها في المجال البحثي بوصفه المحرك للابتكار والنمو، لذا ركزت على المشاريع البحثية التي تسهم في حل المشكلات المحلية، والإقليمية، والعالمية، بما يحقق الشراكة المجتمعية الفاعلة، مع دعم  التميز في الأبحاث والابتكار؛ لتكون قادرة على الإسهام بشكل إيجابي في الأولويات البحثية  الوطنية، مع التأكيد على الملكية الفكرية، والالتزام بالتقاليد والمعايير الأخلاقية للبحث العلمي، والحرص على توفير البيئة المناسبة لإنجاز البحوث المتميزة، والتشجيع على إجراء البحوث المشتركة في داخل الجامعة، أو مع غيرها من المؤسسات المحلية، أو العالمية.

إن مؤشرات ومبشرات النجاح عديدة، فبفضل الله وتوفيقه، تمكنت الجامعة، في 13 رجب 1436هـ (1مايو2015)، من الحصول على الاعتماد الأكاديمي المؤسسي غير المشروط لفترة سبع سنين (1 مايو 2015 م - 30 أبريل 2022م) من المركز الوطني للتقويم والاعتماد الأكاديمي، كما حصلت عدة برامج أكاديمية بكليات الجامعة على الاعتماد الأكاديمي البرامجي الوطني (مثل كلية الطب والتمريض وطب الأسنان) وعلى الاعتماد الأكاديمي البرامجي العالمي (العمارة والتخطيط)، وتستمر مسيرة التميز لباقي برامج الجامعة.

ستحرص الجامعة - بإذن الله تعالى- من خلال أدوارها المختلفة أن تحقق من خلال خريجيها المواطنة الصالحة والفعالة، مع المشاركة في تحقيق التنمية المستدامة والرفاهية للمجتمع، والوطن، والعالم بأسره.