All praise belongs to God alone and may His blessings and peace be upon our Prophet.

The continued development and enhancement of the Imam Abdulrahman bin Faisal University (IAU), both in academics and infrastructure is a major goal of the University's Strategic Plan.  The University strives for excellence and quality in all its academic, administrative and community activities.  With these lofty aspirations in mind, the Vice Presidency for Studies, Development and Community Service (VPDSCS) was established to makes these objectives a reality at IAU.  The IAU VPDSCS is responsible for coordinating and supporting both the quantitative and qualitative development efforts and initiatives throughout the University.  The IAU VPDSCS focuses on making the IAU a leader among universities of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA) with regards to innovation and development.

One of the first projects taken on by the IAU VPDSCS has been to organize and implement the smooth transition from traditional office procedures, with their continual paperwork and forms, to one that is virtually paperless by conducting as much of the University’s business as possible, electronically.  This evolution in the workplace has already been effectively carried out in several areas throughout the University, from routine memorandums and forms, to the application process and enrollment procedures as well as advancements in distance education.  This initiative has not only benefited the administration, faculty, staff and students; but also, contributed to sustainable development, reducing IAU’s environmental footprint.

Development in the area of communication, throughout all sectors and populations of the University has also progressed at a rapid rate. By using mobile messaging, establishing a presence on various social networking sites, and utilizing the University portal which is connected to all affiliated colleges, deanships, centers and departments, communication at the University, whether it is between professors and their students, between colleges or used in publicizing public events to the local community, has dramatically improved.

In accordance with the directives of the Rector of IAU in the appointment decision of the first Vice President for Studies, Development and Community Services on 18/11/1433H (3 October 2012), the IAU VPDSC’s role is to strive for the achievement of quality and excellence in all stages of development at the IAU. The IAU VPDSC is meant to become a progressive component of IAU with the intention of leading and guiding the development and advancement of all University processes.

There are seven entities that are affiliated with IAU VPDSC, namely:  the Deanship of Academic Development, the Deanship of Quality and Academic Accreditation, the Deanship of Information and Communication Technology, the Deanship of e-Learning and Distance Learning, the Deanship of Community Service and Sustainable Development, the College of Applied Studies and Community Service, the Decision Support Units, the Documentation Center, the University Press Department, the Consultation and Units, and the Alumni and Professional Development Center.

The aim of launching the page of VPDSC at website of University of Imam Abdul Rahman bin Faisal on the Internet is to become a window for communication and publicity and demonstration of its roles, responsibilities and activities.

After thanking Allah, I value and appreciate the efforts of all those who contributed to the construction of the website from the ICT Deanship and the VPDSC. I pray to Allah to grant us success in our quest to develop our University and to take its right position in promoting better quality of life for the citizens of our great Nation.
 
The University Vice President for Studies, Development and Community Service
Dr. Abdullah Bin Hussein Alkadi

الحمد لله، والصلاة والسلام على رسولنا الكريم .. وبعد،

تتبنى جامعة الإمام عبدالرحمن بن فيصل جهود التطوير المستمر باعتباره هدفاً رئيساً في الخطة الإستراتيجية للجامعة، وتصبو الجامعة لتحقيق التميز والجودة في كافة فعالياتها الأكاديمية والإدارية والمجتمعية، ولهذا استحدثت وكالة الجامعة للدراسات والتطوير وخدمة المجتمع، لكي تكون المنسق والداعم والمحرك لجهود التطوير المنشود للقطاعات الجامعية المختلفة كماً ونوعاً، لقد وضعت وكالة الجامعة للدراسات والتطوير وخدمة المجتمع صوب عينيها أن تصبح جامعة الإمام عبدالرحمن بن فيصل- بإذن الله تعالى ـ رائدة بين الجامعات السعودية في إحداث ومتابعة التطوير المستمر.

وتحاول جامعة الإمام عبدالرحمن بن فيصل تحقيق التطوير المنشود بتبني التحول نحو العمليات الإلكترونية في مجالات متعددة، أهمها السعي إلى تطبيق الإدارة الإلكترونية، والتحول إلى أن تصبح غالبية إجراءات العمل المؤسسي تتم إلكترونيا، ويدخل في تلك المعاملات تلك الخاصة بمنسوبي الجامعة، وإجراءات الالتحاق بالجامعة والتسجيل أثناء الدراسة، والتعليم عن بعد، والتواصل الإلكتروني، ومن خلال رسائل الجوال، هذا إلى جانب إنشاء مواقع للتواصل الاجتماعي على بوابة الجامعة تضم كل ما يتبعها من كليات، وعمادات، ومراكز، وإدارات، بوصفها وسيلة أكثر سهولة وعصرية للتواصل والتعريف بكافة الجوانب موضع الاهتمام للمتعاملين مع الجامعة، وينعكس هذا كله على سهولة التعامل، وسرعته، وراحة المتعاملين، إلى جانب كفاءة وجودة ما يتم من عمليات.

ووفقاً لتوجيهات معالي مدير الجامعة، في قرار تعيين أول وكيل للجامعة للدراسات وتطور وخدمة المجتمع في 18ذي القعدة 1433هـ (3 أكتوبر 2012)، تمثل وكالة الجامعة للدراسات والتطوير وخدمة المجتمع أحد الروافد الرئيسة لقيادة عمليات التطوير والتحديث بالجامعة؛ تعمل على أن تخطو الجامعة خطواتها المتتابعة في تحسين الأداء وتطويره نحو الجودة والتميز في كافة قطاعاتها الداخلية، وفي تفاعلاتها مع مؤسسات المجتمع؛ وفي سبيل ذلك تحرص وكالة الجامعة للتطوير على الأخذ بكل أسباب التطوير.

يتبع الوكالة سبعة قطاعات، وهي: عمادة التطوير الجامعي، وعمادة الجودة والاعتماد الأكاديمي، وإدارة التطوير الإداري، وعمادة تقنية المعلومات والاتصالات، وعمادة التعليم الإلكتروني والتعلم عن بعد، وعمادة خدمة المجتمع والتنمية المستديمة، وكلية الدراسات التطبيقية وخدمة المجتمع، وحدة دعم اتخاذ القرار، مركز الوثائق، مطبعة الجامعة، وحدة الدراسات والاستشارات، ومركز الخريجين والتنمية المهنية.

إن الهدف من تدشين موقع وكالة الجامعة للتطوير على الموقع الإلكتروني لجامعة الإمام عبدالرحمن بن فيصل على شبكة الإنترنت هو أن يصبح نافذة للتواصل والتعريف بالوكالة، وبأدوارها، ومسؤولياتها، وأنشطتها.

وبعد شكر الله سبحانه وتعالى وحمده، نثمًن ونقدر جهد كل من أسهم في إنشاء الموقع سواء من مركز تقنية المعلومات، أو من وكالة الجامعة للدراسات والتطوير وخدمة المجتمع، وأدعو الله سبحانه وتعالى أن يكتب لنا التوفيق في سعينا لتطوير جامعتنا الحبيبة؛ لتتبوأ مكانتها، ويتعاظم عطاؤها في خدمة الدين والوطن الغالي إنه نعم المولى ونعم النصير.

والحمد لله ,,,

وكيل الجامعة للدراسات والتطوير وخدمة المجتمع
د. عبدالله بن حسين القاضي