Introduction

Among other supporting deanships, Imam Abdulrahman Bin Faisal University (IAU) founded the deanship of students' affairs (DSA) to provide students with a stimulating learning environment. The IAU offers students special services fostering their education. The DSA is concerned with strengthening students' (males and females) spirit of belonging to the homeland and works hard to fill their leisure time with all that contribute to their cultural, psychological and intellectual growth. It also aims to provide all their comforts through various student services.

The DSA has passed through various phases in more than 40 years, where they grew up in the bosom of King Faisal University from 1395/1396 AH until the end of 1430 AH, and have been under the care of the University of Dammam since 1430 AH, until the present time which is an integral part of the Imam Abdulrahman Bin Faisal University.

The following is a chronicle of the foundation and development phases:

First phase: King Faisal University since 1395 AH (corresponding to 1975)
In 1396 AH, the Deanship of Student Affairs began in the same year in which King Faisal University was established under the name of the Deanship of Students and Educational Affairs. The aims were to provide students with academic care in terms of admission and registration in addition to involving students directly in the establishment and organization of social, cultural and sports activities.

In the academic year 1399-1400H, the name was changed from the Deanship of Students and Educational Affairs to the Deanship of Student Affairs and a new Deanship was established, which took over the educational affairs of the students under the name of Deanship of Admissions and Registration.

Second phase: University of Dammam since 1430 AH (corresponding to 2009)
On August 24, 2009, a decree was issued by the Council of Ministers to divide the two parts of King Faisal University in Dammam and Al-Ahsa into two separate universities, thus establishing the University of Dammam to retain the academic heritage of King Faisal University in Dammam. Dammam University was then considered the largest university in Saudi Arabia geographically, which was comprising seven campuses: Dammam, Qhatif, Jubail, Khafji, Nuairieh, Alqariah Alolia, and Hafer Al Baten.

When the University of Dammam became an independent entity with its objectives, responsibilities and independent financial resources, the DSA has been in a major breakthrough since then; it achieved great developments to perform the services provided by the University to its students, which are related to the student's life, housing and nutrition. It also helped students overcome the problems facing them and the formation of their personalities and integration through various student activities.
Here is a chronicle of the deans of DSA in Imam Abdulrahman Bin Faisal University (formerly University of Dammam) since foundation:

  • Dr. Fayez Bin Abdullah Al-Shihri from 2009 to 2012.
  • Dr. Ahmed Bin Abdulrahman Al-Sunni from 2012 to 2014.
  • Dr. Ali Bin Tard Al-Dosari from 2014 until now.

Third phase: Imam Abdulrahman Bin Faisal University since 1438 AH (2016 AD).
The Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques King Salman bin Abdul Aziz approved the amendment of the name of the University of Dammam to become Imam Abdulrahman Bin Faisal University to commemorate the father of the Founder King Abdulaziz.

Vision

Towards a deanship of students affairs leading at the level of Saudi deanships of students affairs.

Mission

To provide the best supporting services, activities and mentorship related to students' intellectual, emotional and physical needs for helping students build their personalities as per the Total Quality Standards.

Goals

  • To foster Islamic morals and national spirit of students.
  • To contribute to building integrated and balanced personalities of students.
  • To create a stimulating and attractive in-campus environment for developing students personalities and skills.
  • To encourage students to engage in volunteering, imitativeness, and participation in campus and outside.
  • To inter into partnerships with local community organizations in favor of students' interests.
  • To explore, cultivate and develop students' talents for maximizing their creativity.
  • To train students on skills of leadership, communication and knowledge development.
  • To provide support to students of special needs.
  • To upgrade performance of the deanship staff in compatible with the services, and activities provided by the deanship.
  • To offer further assessments for the services, and activities provided by the deanship.

Values

1. Patriotism.
2. Responsibility.
3. Positive attitude.
4. Integrity.
5. Fidelity.

المقدمة

إن عمادة شؤون الطلاب هي إحدى العمادات المساندة، التي تقدم مجموعة واسعة من البرامج والخدمات والأنشطة، تُعنى بخدمة الطلبة ورعايتهم؛ فكرياً ونفسياً وثقافياً وجسدياً، وتهدف من خلال خدماتها وبرامجها وأنشطتها إلى الإسهام في بناء شخصية الطلبة المتكاملة والمتوازنة، وتهيئة بيئة جامعية جاذبة، وبرامج محفزة، وتطوير الأندية والمبادرات الطلابية، كما تسعى إلى استثمار رأس المال البشري من خلال اكتشاف مواهب الطلبة وتنمية طاقاتهم الإبداعية، وتقديم كافة سبل الرعاية والدعم لهم.
وباعتبار أن الطلبة هم محور العملية التعليمية التعلمية فإن العمادة تحرص على توفير الأنشطة المختلفة؛ الثقافية والاجتماعية والرياضية والجمالية القيمية، التي تلبي رغبات الطلبة وحاجاتهم وميولهم وقدراتهم.
وبذلك؛ تولي العمادة جلّ اهتمامها لتخريج طلبة قادرين على المنافسة الفعالة في سوق العمل، وخدمة المجتمع.

وحرصاً من إدارة الجامعة على توفير المناخ الأكاديمي الملائم للدراسة؛ قامت بإنشاء مجموعة من العمادات المستقلة المساندة التي تقدم خدمات خاصة للطالب الجامعي في جميع ما يرتبط بأموره الدراسية في الجامعة ومن تلك العمادات عمادة شؤون الطلاب والتي تعد إحدى العمادات الجامعية المعنية بخدمة الطلاب والطالبات ورعايتهم فكريا، ونفسياً، وثقافيا، وتهدف العمادة من خلال برامجها إلى تقوية الصلة بين الطلاب وجامعتهم، وتسعى لتعميق روح الانتماء للوطن، وتعمل جاهدة لشغل أوقات فراغهم بكل ما يسهم في بنائهم الثقافي، والنفسي، والفكري، كما تهدف إلى توفير كل سبل الراحة لهم من خلال الخدمات الطلابية المختلفة.
وقد واكبت العمادة مراحل عدة حتى وصلت إلى ما هي عليه الآن، فمسيرتها تمتد أكثر من (40) عاماً، حيث نشأت وترعرعت في حضن جامعة الملك فيصل من عام 1395/1396هـ، إلى نهاية 1430هـ، وتطورت العمادة في جامعة الدمام منذ عام 1430هـ، وحتى وقتنا الحاضر ومازالت في عهد الاسم الجديد للجامعة (جامعة الإمام عبدالرحمن بن فيصل).
وفيما يلي نستعرض نشأتها وتطورها:

المرحلة الأولى: جامعة الملك فيصل منذ عام 1395 هـ (الموافق 1975 م)

كانت الانطلاقة الأولى لعمادة شؤون الطلاب في نفس العام الذي أُنشئت فيه جامعة الملك فيصل تحت مسمى عمادة الطلاب والشؤون التعليمية في عام 1396 هـ، لتقديم العناية لهم من الناحية الأكــاديمية من حيث قبولهم وتسجيلهم وما يتبع ذلك من حالات إلى جانب الاهتمام بإقامة وتنظيم الأنشطة الاجتماعية والثقافية والرياضية والإشراف عليها إشرافاً مباشراً.
في العام الدراسي 1399-1400هـ، تم تغيير المسمى من عمادة الطلاب والشؤون التعليمية الى عمادة شؤون الطلاب واستُحدثت عمادة جديدة تولت الشؤون التعليمية للطلاب باسم عمادة القبول والتسجيل.

المرحلة الثانية: جامعة الدمام منذ عام 1430 هـ (الموافق 2009 م)

في الثالث من رمضان عام 1430هـ الموافق 24 أغسطس 2009م، صدر قرار من مجلس الوزراء يقضي بفصل شطري جامعة الملك فيصل في كل من الدمام والأحساء إلى جامعتين منفصلتين وبذلك تأسست جامعة الدمام لتحتفظ بالإرث الأكاديمي لكليات جامعة الملك فيصل بالدمام التي يمتد تاريخها لأكثر من ثلاثة عقود، كما عُدت جامعة الدمام أكبر الجامعات السعودية جغرافياً لتمثل (الدمام، القطيف، الجبيل، الخفجي، النعيرية، القرية العليا، حفر الباطن).
وحين أصبحت جامعة الدمام كياناً مستقلاً له أهدافه ومسؤولياته واعتماداته المالية المستقلة كانت الانطلاقة الكبرى لعمادة شؤون الطلاب وتطـورت العمادة منذ ذلك الحين تطوراً كبيراً لتــقوم بمــهام الـخدمات الـتي تـقدمها الجامـعـة لطلابها وطالباتها والتـي تتـعلق بحيـاة الطالب من إسكان وتـغذية وإعانات وأندية طلابية ورعـايته تـربـوياً بتوجيهه وإرشــاده ومسـاعدتـه علـى التغـلب علـى المشـاكل التي تواجـهه وتكوين شخصيتـه وتكـامـلـهـا مـن خــلال الأنشطـة الطلابـية المختلفة.
توالى على شغل منصب عميد شؤون الطلاب في جامعة الإمام عبدالرحمن بن فيصل (جامعة الدمام سابقاً) كلا من:

  • الدكتور فايز بن عبدالله الشهري من 2009 الى 2012.
  • الدكتور أحمد بن عبدالرحمن السني من 2012 الى 2014.
  • الدكتور علي بن طارد الدوسري من 2014 حتى الآن.

المرحلة الثالثة: جامعة الإمام عبد الرحمن بن فيصل منذ عام 1438 هـ (الموافق 2016 م)

حيث وافق خادم الحرمين الشريفين الملك سلمان بن عبد العزيز حفظه الله على تعديل اسم جامعة الدمام لتصبح جامعة الإمام عبدالرحمن بن فيصل تخليدا لذكرى والد الملك المؤسس عبدالعزيز (رحمه الله).

الرؤية

الريادة على مستوى عمادات شؤون الطلاب في الجامعات السعودية.

الرسالة

تقديم أفضل الخدمات والأنشطة والرعاية الداعمة للحاجات الفكرية والانفعالية والجسدية في بناء شخصية الطلاب وفق معايير الجودة الشاملة.

الأهداف

  • تعزيز الأخلاق الإسلامية، والروح الوطنية الأصيلة لدى الطالب الجامعي.
  • الإسهام في بناء شخصية الطلاب المتكاملة والمتوازنة.
  •  تهيئة بيئة جامعية جاذبة وبرامج محفزة تسهم في تنمية شخصية الطلاب ومهاراتهم.
  • تحفيز الطلاب على التطوع والمبادرة والمشاركة داخل الجامعة وخارجها.
  • تأسيس شراكات مع مؤسسات المجتمع المحلي لخدمة الطالب الجامعي.
  • اكتشاف مواهب الطلاب وصقلها وتنمية طاقاتهم الإبداعية.
  •  تدريب الطلاب على المهارات القيادية ومهارات التواصل وتنمية معارفهم.
  •  تقديم الدعم للطلاب ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة.
  •  تطوير أداء الكادر البشري بما يتناسب مع خدمات العمادة وأنشطتها.
  • التقويم المستمر للخدمات والأنشطة المقدمة للطلاب.

القيم

1. الانتماء
2. الإيجابية
3. الإخلاص
4. المسؤولية
5. النزاهة