Welcome to the college web page

The College of Medicine was founded in 1975 as part of King Faisal University until 2009 when it became a college of the newly established University of Dammam, and in 1437-1438 AH the University name change to Imam Abdulrahman bin Faisal Univesity. Over the years, officials have worked hard to place it to the forefront of excellence in medical education. The college facilitated the foundation of several health science colleges in the University. Sustained efforts have been made by the university to build supportive educational environment of high quality that attracts excellent students and outstanding faculty. Institutional accreditation of the University by the Educational Evaluation Commission - Higher Education Sector (EEC-HES), and accreditation of King Fahd Hospital of the University by JCI and CAP would ensure superb environment for work, learning and teaching, and service.

The mission of the college guides us to deliver our core responsibilities. These are high quality teaching, research, clinical and community services. The college is a major contributor to research output in the university. Institute for Research and Medical Consultation at the university provides facilities for basic research. The undergraduate MBBS program is continually revised; the last major revision was completed in 2014. The MBBS curriculum is a competency based, system based, thematic with problem based learning system, and early clinical exposure. The college offers several Master’s, PhD, clinical fellowships and residency programs.  It runs very successful CME programs for the benefit of the medical workforce in the area.

The college pursues strong and sustained partnerships with Directorate of Ministry of Health in the Eastern Province, Saudi Commission for Health Specialties, Monash University, University of Arizona, and The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons in Canada. In addition, the college networks with other leading international universities and institutions. The college benefits from an external advisory committee with local and international expertise. The college liaises with the Colleges of Medicine in King Saud University and King Abdulaziz University to benchmark key performance indicators of quality assurance in undergraduate medical education. 

The abilities of our graduates are developed to enhance patient care and wellbeing of the community. We do our best to prepare them to be tomorrow’s physicians and professionals.

Prof. Ali Ibrahim Al Sultan
Dean, College of Medicine

أهلا ومرحبا بكم

أسست كلية الطب عام 1975م بجامعة الملك فيصل حتى عام 2009م حين أصبحت تابعة لجامعة الدمام التي أنشئت في ذلك العام، وفي العام 1437 -1438 هـ  أصبحت جامعة الإمام عبد الرحمن بن فيصل. على مرور الأعوام عمل المسؤولون ليضعوا الكلية في المقدمة للتميز في مجال التعليم الطبي. ساهمت الكلية في تأسيس عدة كليات للعلوم الصحية بالجامعة. وقد بذلت الجامعة جهودا عظيمة لخلق بيئة تعليمية داعمة بمواصفات عالية لجذب الطلاب المتميزين وأعضاء هيئة التدريس المرموقين. إن الاعتماد المؤسسي للجامعة من قبل هيئة تقييم التعليم -قطاع التعليم العالي، واعتماد مستشفى الملك فهد الجامعي بالخبر من قبل الهيئة العالمية المشتركة للاعتراف بالمستشفيات، واللجنة الأمريكية للاعتراف بالمختبرات الطبية يوفر بيئة رائعة للعمل والتعلم والتعليم والخدمة.

رسالة الكلية تملي علينا الوفاء بصميم مسئولياتنا على أكمل وجه. وهي التدريس، البحث العلمي، والخدمات الطبية  والمجتمعية. تعتبر الكلية مساهم رئيسي في الإنتاج البحثي في الجامعة. يقدم معهد البحوث والاستشارات الطبية بالجامعة بيئة جاذبة للبحوث الأساسية. تتم مراجعة منهج البكالوريوس باستمرار، وكان آخر مراجعة رئيسية له عام 2014م. يتبني منهج الكلية نظام مبني على الكفايات ومبني على التعلم من خلال المشكلات، والتعرض المبكر للجانب السريري. تقدم الكلية العديد من برامج الماجستير والدكتوراه والزمالات الطبية. تقيم الكلية برامج التعليم الطبي المستمر وتسهم في تطوير القوى البشرية الطبية في المنطقة.

لدى الكلية شراكات مميزة مع مديرية الشئون الصحية بالمنطقة الشرقية، الهيئة السعودية للتخصصات الصحية، جامعة موناش في أستراليا، جامعة أريزونا في أمريكا، والكلية الملكية للأطباء والجراحين في كندا. بالإضافة إلى ذلك فإن الكلية تتعاون مع جامعات ومعاهد عالمية. كما تسهم في تطوير الكلية لجنة استشارية خارجية بخبرات محلية وعالمية. تتعاون الكلية مع كلية الطب بجامعة الملك سعود وكلية الطب بجامعة الملك عبد العزيز في مقارنة مؤشرات الآداء لضمان الجودة في التعليم الطبي الجامعي.

نطور قدرات خريجينا لتحسين العناية بالمرضى ولرفاهية المجتمع الصحية. ونبذل قصارى الجهود لإعدادهم ليكونوا أطباء الغد على درجة عالية من المهنية.

أ.د. علي بن إبراهيم السلطان
عميد كلية الطب