Overview

Since the date of its establishment, the Pharmaceutical chemistry department works with other college departments in preparing pharmacists to work in all branches of the pharmaceutical and health profession including community, hospital, and industry. In addition, courses at the chemistry department contributes to a high extent in developing the required skills for the college graduates especially those who aim to work in pharmaceutical industry and research and development.
The Pharmaceutical Chemistry department provides learning experiences based on the best educational practices for all students in different chemistry subjects including, organic chemistry, medicinal chemistry, drug design, pharmaceutical analytical chemistry. These courses emphasize fundamental understanding in the physical, chemical, and biological processes of drugs and drug-related systems, and innovated therapies as well as pharmaceutical analysis and quality control.
The department is dedicated to support excellence in pharmaceutical chemistry education. We are committed to teaching all pharmaceutical chemistry subjects through strong innovative teaching modules. The department is continuously reviewing its course specs and is always utilizing various teaching and learning strategies that make their students the hub of the learning process and that are integrated with properly aligned assessment plans.
Moreover, the department is well established with several laboratories equipped with state-of-the-art instrumentation. The faculty members have conducted cutting edge scientific research in the fields of medicinal chemistry, drug discovery, pharmaceutical analytical chemistry, and organic chemistry. The department has attracted funding from various organizations and is producing a high number of research articles published in distinct and high impact peer reviewed scientific journals. In addition, faculty members of the department are also contributing in the students’ graduation projects.
Our faculty members actively participate in all community services and campaigns that are held by the college, and work hardly to implement consultancy services to the different pharmaceutical sector in the region.

Published on: 08 July 2014
Last update on: 25 October 2020

نبذة عن القسم

يعمل قسم الكيمياء الصيدلانية منذ تأسيسه بالتعاون مع أقسام الكلية الأخرى في إعداد الصيادلة للعمل في جميع فروع الصيدلة سواء في المستشفيات أو قطاع الصناعة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تساهم المقررات في قسم الكيمياء إلى حد كبير في تطوير المهارات المطلوبة لخريجي الكلية وخاصة أولئك الذين يهدفون إلى العمل في صناعة الأدوية والبحث والتطوير.
يقدم قسم الكيمياء الصيدلانية خبرات التعلم بناءً على أفضل الممارسات التعليمية لجميع الطلاب في مواضيع الكيمياء المختلفة بما في ذلك الكيمياء العضوية والكيمياء الطبية وتصميم الأدوية والكيمياء التحليلية الصيدلانية. تؤكد هذه المقررات على الفهم الأساسي للعمليات الفيزيائية والكيميائية والبيولوجية للأدوية والأنظمة المتعلقة بالعقاقير، والعلاجات المبتكرة بالإضافة إلى التحليل الصيدلاني ومراقبة الجودة.
في مجال البحث العلمي فإن لدى القسم مختبرات مجهزة بأحدث الأجهزة. حيث يجري أعضاء هيئة التدريس البحوث العلمية في مجالات الكيمياء الطبية واكتشاف الأدوية والكيمياء التحليلية الصيدلانية والكيمياء العضوية. كما نجح القسم في الحصول على تمويل من جهات مختلفة نتج عنها عدد كبير من المقالات البحثية المنشورة في مجلات علمية متميزة ومراجعة عالية التأثير.كما يشرف أعضاء هيئة التدريس في القسم في العديد من مشاريع تخرج الطلاب.
ويشارك أعضاء هيئة التدريس في خدمات المجتمع والحملات التي تنظمها الكلية، ويقدمون خدمات استشارية لقطاع الأدوية المختلفة في المنطقة.

تاريخ النشر : 08 يوليو 2014
تاريخ آخر تحديث : 25 أكتوبر 2020