Overview

The Department of Biomedical Dental Sciences (BDS) consists of six divisions. The department is responsible for teaching undergraduate and postgraduate students, diagnosis, and management of a variety of diseases in the oral and maxillofacial region.  In addition, the department conducts research in the head and neck area with an emphasis on biology, pathology, diagnosis, and management of different diseases.

Divisions 

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Division

The scope of the specialty is extensive and includes the diagnosis and surgical management of facial injuries, head and neck cancers, salivary gland diseases, facial symmetry, facial pain, impacted teeth, cysts, and tumors of the jaws as well as numerous problems affecting the oral mucosa. This division is responsible for the didactic and clinical instruction in Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery and Local Anesthesia & Pain Control for the undergraduate and postgraduate dental students. 

 

Oral Radiology Division

Several courses are provided by the division to teach the students; the physics of radiation, interpretation of radiographic imaging studies performed for diagnosis in oral and maxillofacial region, and how to take radiographs in the dental clinics. The division is responsible to supervise and implement of education in Oral Radiology courses throughout the academic year and assist other faculty members, residents, and students in radiographic consultation, interpretation, and diagnosis. 

 

Oral Pathology Division

The scope of the specialty is very vast and that is to investigate the causes, processes, and effects of the diseases. The practice of oral pathology includes research, diagnosis of diseases using clinical, radiographic, microscopic, biochemical, or other special investigations, and further management of patients. The division's goal is to achieve academic excellence in teaching and training oral and maxillofacial pathology to the undergraduate and postgraduate dental students.

 

Oral Medicine Division 

Oral medicine interfaces dentistry and medicine and this specialty is involved in managing medically compromised patients, diseases of the mouth, jaws, TMJ (temporomandibular joint), and oral manifestations of systemic conditions. The scope of the specialty is typically to provide non-surgical care to patients with a variety of conditions affecting the orofacial region, whether local disorders or related to systemic diseases. This division is responsible for the didactic and clinical instruction in Oral Medicine, diagnosis, and treatment planning for the undergraduate dental students. 

 

Medicine Division

This division is responsible to Organize and coordinate all activities of medical courses provided to the dental students in the dental college. It provides the didactic and clinical instruction in the following courses for the undergraduate and postgraduate dental students:

  • Anatomy
  • General Histology
  • General Pathology
  • Microbiology
  • Pharmacology 

Oral Biology Division

This division teaches the growth, development, histology of the oral cavity, related tissues, and organs, and associated craniofacial areas for undergraduate and postgraduate students. It also participates in several basic and applied research activities.

Academic Programs

The department offers a 5-year fellowship program that encompasses the full scope of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery. 

Faculty

Contact 

Email: Cd.dbd@iau.edu.sa

Published on: 12 May 2014
Last update on: 13 April 2022

نبذة عن القسم

يتكون قسم علوم الأسنان الطبية الحيوية من ست شعب ويعنى هذا القسم بتدريس طلاب طب الأسنان مختلف الأمراض التي تصيب الفم والوجه والفكين بالإضافة إلى مختلف طرق تشخيصها كالفحص الإكلينيكي، والأشعة، والفحص المجهري.  كذلك يؤهل القسم طلاب مرحلة البكالوريوس لعلاج بعض هذه الأمراض إما عن طريق العلاج التحفظي أو الجراحي. يشمل التعليم في هذا القسم التدريس النظري والعملي بشقيه المعملي والإكلينيكي.

 

 

الأقسام

 

شعبة جراحة الوجه والفكين

تهتم بالتشخيص والعلاج الجراحي لنطاق واسع من الأمراض التي تصيب الوجه والفكين كالأورام والكسور والتشوهات الخلقية والمكتسبة والالم الفم وخلع الاضراس المطمورة. تقوم الشعبة ايضا بتدريب طلاب البكالوريوس والدراسات العليا اكلينيكيًا على التخدير الموضعي وخلع الأسنان. 

شعبة أشعة الوجه والفكين

تعني هذه الشعبة بدراسة الأشعة السينية وأنواع وطرق التصوير الشعاعي وكيفية قراءتها وتوظيفها لتشخيص واكتشاف أمراض الأسنان والأنسجة الصلبة. تقوم الشعبة أيضا بتدريب طلاب البكالوريوس والدراسات العليا على كيفية اخذ الصور الاشعاعية في العيادة بالإضافة الى قراءتها والحصول على تشخيص. 

شعبة أمراض الفم

تهتم هذه الشعبة بدراسة أسباب الأمراض التي تصيب الفم والوجه والفكين والكشف عليها إكلينيكيًا وتشخيصها مخبريًا. يركز هذا القسم على الفحص المجهري للأنسجة المصابة. وتساهم الشعبة في تدريب طلاب البكالوريوس والدراسات العليا على التعرف على أمراض التي تصيب الفم وكيفية تشخيصها مجهريا. 

شعبة طب الفم

تعني هذه الشعبة بتوفير الرعاية الصحية لمرضى آلام الوجه المزمنة ومختلف الأمراض التي تؤثر على الفم والوجه والفكين مع التركيز على طرق العلاج غير الجراحية. وتساهم الشعبة في تدريب طلاب البكالوريوس والدراسات العليا على التعرف على أمراض التي تصيب الفم وكيفية تشخيصها اكلينيكيا.

شعبة أحياء الفم

تعني هذه الشعبة بدراسة أساسيات علم الأحياء للفم والأسنان والأنسجة المحيطة بها من بداية تكونها وتنوع أنسجتها وخلاياها. وتساهم هذه الشعبة بنشر أبحاث مختلفة في علم أحياء الفم والانسجة.

شعبة الطب 

 تقوم هذه الشعبة بتنسيق وتقديم المقررات الدراسية من كلية الطب التي تعطى لطلاب طب الاسنان في كلية طب الأسنان. وتشمل هذه الشعبة المقررات التالية:

  • مقرر علم التشريح
  • مقرر علم الأنسجة
  • مقرر علم الأمراض
  • مقرر علم الأحياء الدقيقة
  • مقرر علو الأدوية

البرامج الأكاديمية

يتيح قسم علوم الأسنان الطبية الحيوية برنامج الزمالة لتخصص جراحة الوجه والفكين والذي يشمل التعليم النظري والعملي الإكلينيكي بالإضافة إلى البحث العلمي.

 

أعضاء هيئة التدريس

معلومات التواصل

البريد الإلكتروني: Cd.dbd@iau.edu.sa

 

تاريخ النشر : 12 مايو 2014
تاريخ آخر تحديث : 13 أبريل 2022