Overview

The Department of Preventive Dental Sciences (PDS) consists of minimum frame prevention and preventive treatment along with the utilization of modern diagnostic methods and providing optimum dental care.  The Department is also involved in several research and behavioral science in coordination with the Basic Sciences Program. The Department teach all courses related to dental public health, pediatric dentistry, orthodontics and periodontics.  

Divisions

Dental Public Health  

This division aspires to qualify the students to meet the needs of the community, particularly those related to oral health in accordance with the community’s social and cultural circumstances.  This division participate through the community service unit to organizes and conducts outreach programs and symposia, which are held at health centers, community service centers and other facilities.   


Orthodontic Division
 

This division teaches students the basics of orthodontics and the diagnosis of disorders and malformations of teeth, as well as maxillofacial deformities. It also teaches the students how to to diagnose, and treat malocclusion and developmental deformities using the best available tools to treat adults and children.  

Pediatric Dentistry Division 

It teaches students the normal growth of dentition and oral structures and their pathological disorder as well as teaching the students about preventive and therapeutic techniques for inherited and acquired dental problems in children. 

Periodontic Division

This division focuses on the supporting structures of the teeth (periodontium) and the recognition of pathological changes resulting from local and systemic causes.  The effect of diseased periodontiums on systemic health is also covered. It also teaches students oh how to perform surgical treatment for the tissue and to perform the surgical part of implant restoration. 

Academic Programs

The PDS Department offers postgraduate periodontics, orthodontic and pediatric dentistry fellowship fellowships, which include theoretical, laboratory, clinical training, and research projects.  

Faculty

Contact

Phone: +966 13 333-1529
Email: CD.PDSD@iau.edu.sa

Published on: 12 May 2014
Last update on: 27 October 2022
Page views: 378

نبذة عن القسم

يعنى قسم علوم طب الأسنان الوقائية بالعلوم المتعلقة بصحة الفم و الأسنان و الوقاية من أمراض الفم و تسوس الأسنان وذلك من خلال ارتباطه بالعلوم الأساسية و السلوكية لتقديم الرعاية الصحية المثلى. ويقوم القسم بتدريس كل ما يعنى بصحة اسنان المجتمع و صحة الفم العامة و تقويم الأسنان و طب أسنان الأطفال و الأنسجة المحيطة بالأسنان.  

الشعب 

الصحة العامة للأسنان

تهدف إلى تأهيل الطالب لتلبية حاجات المجتمع، وخاصة تلك المتعلقة بصحة الفم والأسنان، وفقا لظروف المجتمع الثقافية والاجتماعية. تتولى هذه الشعبة تدريس المقررات التي تهيئ الطالب لمعرفة حاجات المجتمع والعمل على تلبية الحاجات العلاجية والوقائية للمجتمع. تساهم هذه اللجنة من خلال وحدة خدمة المجتمع الى تقديم برامج التوعية والندوات التي تقام في المراكز الصحية ومراكز خدمة المجتمع والمرافق الأخرى.  

شعبة تقويم الأسنان

تهتم بتعليم الطالب أساسيات علم تقويم الأسنان ونمو الوجه والفكين، وكيفية تشخيص مشاكل إطباق الأسنان، وتشوهات الوجه والفكين. كما تعنى بتعليم الطلاب طرق تفادي مشاكل إطباق الأسنان والنمو وذلك من خلال استخدام التقنيات الخاصة بعلاج تقويم الأسنان للأطفال و للكبار.

 

شعبة طب أسنان الأطفال

تهتم بتعليم الطالب النمو الطبيعي لأسنان الأطفال، وأنسجة الفم والأمراض المتعلقة به، وتقوم أيضا بتدريب الطالب على التقنيات الوقائية والعلاجية للأمراض الموروثة والمكتسبة في الأطفال. كما تعنى بتدريس الطلاب طرق الوقاية من مشاكل صحة الفم والأسنان للأطفال خلال مراحل النمو المختلفة وذلك باستخدام الطرق العلاجية الملائمة لهذه المرحلة العمرية.

 

شعبة طب الأنسجة المحيطة بالأسنان

تهتم بتعريف الطالب على الأنسجة المحيطة بالأسنان (اللثة)، في الصحة والمرض، وكيفية التعرف على التغيرات المرضية الناتجة عن الأسباب المؤدية الى هذه التغيرات سواء كانت موضعية أو عامة و تأثير أمراض اللثة والأنسجة المحيطة على الصحة العامة. كما تعنى هذه الشعبة بتدريس طرق العلاج الجراحية للثة و زراعة الأسنان.  

البرامج الأكاديمية

قسم علومالأسنانالوقائية يوفر برنامج الزمالة فيعلاج اللثة وجراحتها وزراعة الأسنان وتقويم الأسنانو طب أسنان الأطفال لطلاب الدرجات العليا، البرنامج يتضمن التدريب الاكلينيكي والنظري بالإضافة إلى الأبحاث العلمية.  

أعضاء هيئة التدريس

التواصل

الهاتف:  1529-13333 966+
البريد الإلكتروني: CD.PDSD@iau.edu.sa

تاريخ النشر : 12 مايو 2014
تاريخ آخر تحديث : 27 أكتوبر 2022
المشاهدات : 768